Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Blog Tour - Dan & Nat Got Married by Jon Rance plus Q&A!

The British romantic comedy you need to read this year. 
From the bestselling author of This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings and Sunday Dinners, comes a brilliantly funny romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Love Actually, Notting Hill and Bridget Jones.
Marriage can be difficult. Especially when you've only just met. Meet Dan Fox, 34, an online marketing manager from Clapham, who was jilted at the altar two years ago by the love of his life and hasn’t dated since.
Nat Howard, 32, is living back at home with her parents in Dorking after her perfect boyfriend dumped her and she had to move out of his bespoke flat in Putney.
On separate Stag and Hen weekends in Las Vegas, Dan and Nat wake up married. Both too drunk to remember what happened, they return to England and try to get on with their lives. But there was something about Nat that makes the usually cautious Dan think they should give their marriage a go. Nat’s still in love with her Ex, but maybe Dan can help mend her broken heart. 
Can marriage between two relative strangers really work? And when Nat's ex-boyfriend - the gorgeous Charlie - comes back into her life, she must decide - something old or something new? 
Set in London, Dan And Nat Got Married, is a funny and full of heart modern romantic comedy about marriage, relationships, and giving love a second chance.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Q & A with Jon Rance 

Would you be able to tell us a bit more about ‘Dan And Nat Got Married’?

Hello! Thanks so much for having me on your blog. I’m so excited to be here and to talk about my new novel. Dan And Nat Got Married, is a romantic comedy novel set in London. It’s about two people, Dan, 34, an online marketing manager from Clapham, and Nat, 32, an office temp who lives at home with her parents in Dorking, who wake up in Las Vegas married. They’re both there on separate stag and hen weekends, and after a heavy night out drinking, they wake up with no memory of what happened, but both wearing wedding rings. They return to England, and for different reasons, they decide to give their marriage a go. Nat moves in with Dan and we follow them as they attempt to be married. Of course, when old loves and new problems arise, it tests them and we see if it’s really possible for two relative strangers to make marriage work. Dan And Nat Got Married, is a funny, full of heart modern love story about marriage, relationships, and giving love a second chance.  

How did you come up with Dan and Nat’s story?

This is my fifth novel - I know, I can’t believe it either - and before I started it I knew I wanted to write a proper romantic comedy. I love a great romantic comedy and although all of my novels do feature romance and are generally comedies, I’ve never really set out to write one. So before I started I read a lot of romantic comedy novels and watched a lot of films. I wanted to write the very best rom com I could. I knew I wanted it to be set in London and I wanted my story to be fresh, quirky, and different. So once I started I knew I wanted my characters to meet in a very different way and once I decided that two strangers would wake up married in Las Vegas, I had the idea and everything else just played off that.

The thing about the premise is that it has to be different, new, and in this case slightly outrageous, but it also has to feel real. Yes, it’s unlikely you’ll ever end up married to a stranger in Las Vegas and even more unlikely that if that did happen, you’d decide to give that marriage a go. So my biggest challenge was giving both Dan and Nat realistic reasons why they decide to be married despite not really knowing each other. I’m not going to say what they are, but I think it works. The early reviews definitely seem to approve anyway.

Out of all the books you have wrote, which would you say has been your favourite to write and why?

This one, definitely. I don’t know how other writers feel, but for me writing a book means becoming completely invested in the characters. I’m writing their story, so for me how much I enjoy the process and the outcome really comes down to which characters I enjoyed spending the time with. I’ve enjoyed all of my books, but I think for this one the characters really do shine brighter than any of my other books. There are also a lot of characters in this book I loved so much. Beyond Dan and Nat, their two best friends, Adam and Ellie were an absolute joy to write. I’ve already had one reviewer ask me if Adam and Ellie are going to have their own novel as they enjoyed them so much. For me this book was an absolute joy to write from start to finish because once I had the characters and the premise, everything else just sort of fell into place. I even loved writing the “baddie” character, Charlie, who is Nat’s ex-boyfriend because he’s basically the man we all want to be; intelligent, successful, good-looking, and sexy. I also really loved writing about London because it’s my favourite city in the world.

What inspires you when writing?

Firstly, our mortgage because we have to pay that and have a roof over our heads. My wife and children always inspire me because they support me and what I do so much. Outside of them it’s very much reading other novels, watching television and films, and being inspired by all that creativity. All of those things whether it’s a novel, TV show, or movie, all begin with people like me sitting down on a Monday morning and staring at a blank screen. I love the creative process and I love being creative and being surrounded by it really keeps me wanting to write more, be better, and more successful.

Who is your favourite author and why?

Wow that’s a big question. I have a few favourite authors. Mike Gayle, David Nicholls, Mhairi McFarlane, Lisa Jewell, Andy Jones, Matt Dunn, Nick Spalding, Nick Hornby, Christina Hopkinson, are my current, modern favourites. There’s a lot of other authors from other generations that I love too. But from the above list I would have to say David Nicholls. For me David just writes the perfect novels. I’ve enjoyed each of his books so much and they’re always so engaging and you get lost in them. But like I said, there are a lot of incredible authors out there. I just wish I had more time to read them all.

If you could collaborate with any other author, who would it be and why?

That’s a great question. I recently read, ‘The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me’, by Jimmy Rice and Laura Tait. It’s an excellent read and a wonderful book, but what makes it interesting is that Jimmy and Laura wrote alternate chapters. In Dan And Nat Got Married, you get both perspectives, but both were written by me. In, ‘The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me’, you get the male and female perspective written by a man and a woman. It’s a very unique book and it works really well. So I think I’d like to write with a woman and maybe we could do something similar. With that in mind I’d love to work with Mhairi McFarlane because she writes very high end romantic comedies with brilliant characters, unique plots, and I just love her style of writing. I think together we could create something very special!

What advice would you give aspiring authors/writers?

The best advice I can give to young or aspiring authors is just to do it and to live your life. I spent a lot of my twenties talking about writing, but not really doing it. I was, however, living my life and a lot of those experiences have appeared and inspired by books. You need experiences to have something you want to say, so get out there, live your life and maybe keep a notepad to jot some of them down. But at some point you’ll need to actually write.

Writing isn’t easy, but if you have something you want to say, a story you want to tell, then get it down. Stop making excuses and just do it. There’s no better way to learn how to write than to actually write. I’d also say, make sure you get decent feedback from other writers - there’s a few websites you can join to help with this - and also don’t be afraid. The publishing world moves quickly and no-one’s going to wait until you’re ready. You need to tackle it head on and give it your best shot. Don’t ever be afraid to toot your own horn because no-one else will - and no that isn’t a euphemism!

Thanks so much for having me. It’s been an absolute pleasure!  

Jon Rance is the author of four novels: the Kindle top ten bestseller, This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings (both published by Hodder and Stoughton), This Family Life and Sunday Dinners. He's also the author of the short story prequel, This Twentysomething Life and the Christmas novella, A Notting Hill Christmas. His fifth novel, Dan And Nat Got Married, will be published this October. 

Jon studied English Literature at Middlesex University, London, before going travelling and meeting his American wife in Australia. Jon loves comedy (especially sitcoms), the films of Richard Curtis, travelling and tea. He just turned forty, which is a terrifying time, so his books might get a bit edgier and possibly angrier as a result.

Jon writes dramatic, romantic, comedy fiction similar to the work of Mike Gayle, Matt Dunn, Nick Spalding and David Nicholls.

Twitter / Goodreads / Website 

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

'Waiting On Wednesday' - Snowfall On Haven Point by RaeAnne Thayne

"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event that is hosted by Breaking The Spine
 It gives the chance to show new book release that are coming out soon. The book that I am looking forward to is Snowfall On Haven Point by RaeAnne Thayne. 

There's no place like Haven Point for the holidays, where the snow conspires to bring two wary hearts together for a Christmas to remember  
It's been two rough years since Andrea Montgomery lost her husband, and all she wants is for her children to enjoy their first Christmas in Haven Point. But then Andie's friend asks a favor—to keep an eye on her brother, Sheriff Marshall Bailey, who's recovering from a hit and run. Andie will do anything for Wyn, even park her own misgivings to check on her grouchy, wounded bear of a brother. 
Marshall hates feeling defenseless and resents the protective impulses that Andie brings out in him. But when a blizzard forces them together for the holidays, something in Marshall begins to thaw. Andie's gentle nature is a salve, and her kids' excitement for the holidays makes him forget why he never wanted a family. If only he and Andie can admit what they really want—each other—their Christmas wishes might come true after all.

I have been a fan of RaeAnne Thayne since I seen one of her books recommended for me on Amazon, I loved the type of stories that RaeAnne wrote and with the eye-catching covers they are simply amazing. When I saw Snowfall On Haven Point was getting released I couldn't help but read the blurb and fell straight in love with this story and the characters, and that just from the blurb!!

Snowfall On Haven Point is out on the 27th September 2016.

Amazon UK / Amazon US / Book Depository / Wordery

What would your 'Waiting On Wednesday' be? If you want to tell me your 'Waiting On Wednesday' let me know in the comments or on Twitter

Another day, another book, 
     post signature

Monday, 19 September 2016

Review of Make Me Forget #1 by Beth Kery

Make Me Forget #1
By Beth Kery
Publication Date: 5th April 2016
Publisher: Headline Eternal 
Pages: 79
Genre: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Harper McFaddan has made her name as an investigative journalist by being both compassionate and fearless. After tragedy strikes her family, she moves to the shores of Lake Tahoe to find some peace. But when mysterious software mogul Jacob Latimer comes into her life, her thoughts turn from her own healing to an urgent need to get closer to him...

Jacob Latimer is the definition of a self-made man. The software entrepreneur built his corporation from nothing, but rumors abound about the shadiness of his rise to power  and no one knows what secrets lurk in his past. Harper is the last person he should let into his life. As an investigative journalist, she’s the one person who could expose his hidden origins. But Jacob knows things about Harper’s past that make him irresistibly drawn to her. He wants nothing more than to make her his—and Jacob is a man who always gets what he wants...
Well the first thing I have to say about Make Me Forget is that it is a book that I will never be able to forget, it is simply amazing!!
 Harper McFaddan is all about good and honest news stories, with a couple of troubled years behind her, she is more focused on the future and her career. So when she get a strange request to attend a party being held by no other than the Jacob Latimer, software god, she is confused yet enthralled at the same time. 
Jacob Latimer has worked his whole life to be something, his software breakthrough put him on the map and before he knew it he was something  as well as someone people wanted to be. Although Jacob has secrets he longs to hide, not just from others but from himself. Inviting Harper to his party not only affected his future but his past as well, and if there is something people who come across Jacob know is he always gets what he wants.
I love this first book in this new series by Beth Kery, I have adored her work for several years now and with every new book I wish there were more like it. I love both Harper and Jacob, not just their characters but their complex issues and pasts, they have both been through rough times but their strong wills shows that it can only make them stronger in the end. This is something I love read about in books, it gives the book its drive and passion not just for the characters but the story as well. 
Make Me Forget is a brilliant start to this series, with its passion, hidden secrets and ending that will make you want to read the next book straight away, it is a book series that I know I am going love from start to finish. 
Amazing, Enthralling and Charming. 

Another day, another book, 
     post signature

Monday, 5 September 2016

Review of Hands On #1 by Cathryn Fox

Hands On #1
By Cathryn Fox
Publication Date:
Publisher: Entangled: Scorched 
Pages: 67
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Erotica 
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 

Amazon UK / Amazon US

When hot as hell Danielle Lang showed up and asked me to teach her about sex, I thought I was hallucinating. Turns out the beautiful psychologist needed an extra bit of schooling in all things sexual so she could teach a class.

I’m always up for helping a friend. I mean, it’s the least I can do. What I wasn’t expecting is for her to turn the tables and teach me a few things. Only this short-term promise of two weeks in her bed is going by a little too quickly. Not that I’m thinking forever or anything.
I’ve got a football career to get back to. And she doesn’t want to be a part of my world. There’s no way we can be together—so I’m going to make sure I enjoy every sexy second….
Danielle Lang is way out of her depth with her new job and with lack of sexual encounters as well. Danielle's new job expects her to talk to a bunch of people who she has never met before about sex and everything that goes with it. To some people it maybe a walk in the park but to Danielle it is a little more complicated given the fact that she has no experience what-so-ever with sex. 
Jack Rider has had his fair share of bad luck lately with his football career being on hold due to an injury. Working in his father's auto shop was meant to be keeping his mind off of his failing career but nothing can make him forget. When Danielle asks him to teach her about sex for her sex therapy class, he is surprised not only because she asked but because he had a crush on her in high school. Although when Jack gets to know Danielle more, he realises that she is hiding something from him and that not is all it seems especially when it comes to why she wants his help and what he can get in return. 
I have been a big fan of Cathryn Fox and I knew as soon as I read the first page of Hands On that it would become my next favourite book series by Cathryn. My favourite character would have to be Danielle, I liked how she was willing to do whatever it takes to do the best job possible. I also love her passion to get her own practice one day, the place she has in mind would be the ideal place and it reminded me of a old bookstore that you could only dream of owning. 
Hands On is a sexy yet sweet book that is thrilling at the same time. I loved the theme of the book, it is different from any other I had read. I can't wait to read the what happens next, I have just started to read the next book and is getting sexier by the minute. 
Sexy, Daring and Passionate. 

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Saturday, 3 September 2016

Blog Tour - A Winter Affair by Minna Howard & Extract!

A Winter Affair
By Minna Howard 
Publication Date: 1st September 2016
Publisher: Aria Fiction 
Pages: 273
Genre: Romance, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley

Amazon UK / Amazon US

A wonderful warm, seasonal treat, whisking you on a magical adventure to the Swiss Alps. Full of food, laughter and fun. 

With a recent divorce and empty nest Eloise Brandon is facing Christmas alone until a harried phone call from her godfather changes everything. 
Accepting his challenge, Eloise finds herself en-route to Verbier and to her godfathers chalet in the beautiful Swiss Alps to help cater for some seriously rich, high rolling guests. 
What ensues makes it a Christmas to remember. A heady alpine mixture of old friends, ex-husbands, mega-rich, super demanding guests, a dishevelled proprietor and Bert the dog.

Eloise Brandon has had a rubbish year, from her marriage ending to now having to spend Christmas alone with her children away on a gap year, she is left with an empty nest and heart as well. Just when she had give up hope on this magical season, Eloise gets a phone call from Desmond, her godfather. He asks her to help his son Lawrence at the old yet very charming chalet that Eloise has been to not been too in years. 
Eloise is very unsure at first on whether she should help Lawrence or ring him to say that she was unable to do as he asked. Although before Eloise knows it she is on a plane flying to her destination. Where she is thrown head first into cooking for the rich guests, Eloise knows that she isn't the best at cooking fancy food but she hopes that home cooked real food is the best thing for the chalet. There is also the added fact that the chalet is in danger due to the upgrades needed Lawrence isn't sure about what will happen after this festive season. 
I loved this Christmas story for two reasons, one I love, love Christmas stories who doesn't?! and two it had everything I could have ever wanted in a Christmas Book, With its strong family themes, beautiful surroundings and romance that sneaks up on you when you least expect it. A Winter Affair is a truly magical Christmas story that will show you a different meaning to Christmas and how sometimes change is good, no matter how big or small. 
I would have to say that Eloise, Theo and Bert were my favourite characters. Eloise as I think she is so strong and sweet to everyone and that she knows she will never be as good as a professional chef but she doesn't let that stop her from trying which I admire. Theo as he is such a helpful and sweet boy who faces a lot of issues in the book (once you read it, you will understand what I mean!) but his lovely natural and desire to help others makes him one of my favourite characters. The last one is Bert, the dog, I don't think I have to explain why I loved Bert so much. He makes this Christmas story a funnier and more loveable just from the silly antics that Bert gets up too.  

Don't forget to check out the first chapter/ extract below that will 

make you want to read this amazing Christmas book!

Magical, Wonderful and Christmassy. 



Eloise had written three Christmas cards before she realised her mistake, but old habits die hard. Love from Eloise, Harvey and the twins. 
But Harvey wasn’t here and would not be coming back. She tore up the cards and threw them into the bin and then gave up on the whole idea; she would not be sending cards this year. She sat at her desk in the still unfamiliar room of her new home in Wimbledon, struggling to repress the ache in her heart. 
Through the window she saw the driver of the supermarket delivery van wheeling cases of wine and boxes of goodies to number 27 ready for the Christmas celebrations. She better go and buy her turkey breast, pudding for one and wine and chocolate to eat while she immersed herself in box sets, she thought wryly. 
This year she’d be home alone for Christmas for the first time in her forty-three years. The telephone rang, cutting through her thoughts. It could be the twins calling from Tibet. She answered it full of hope. Her spirits fell a little when she realized it was not them but Desmond Maynard, her godfather, calling from his sunny home in Antigua.
 ‘What are you doing for Christmas, my dear?’ his voice boomed from across the world. She’d told him all about her divorce. Perhaps he was going to ask her to stay with him for Christmas. Her heart rose as she pictured warm beaches and soft seas. She hadn’t seen Desmond, her father’s best friend, for a couple of years, he was good company and she’d always been fond of him. 
Knowing him, he’d even offer to pay for her ticket, which he could well afford, so she wouldn’t feel bad about accepting. Now he was alone without Maddy, his beloved partner, he probably yearned for company at this emotional time of the year. She’d be happy to read to him, go on walks in the lush countryside and swim in the sea with him. So maybe her Christmas wouldn’t be so bad this year after all. 
‘I haven’t decided yet, Desmond. The twins are in Tibet. I’m going to catch up with them in the summer when I visit my parents in New Zealand and…’ She was about to accept the invitation he had not yet given when he interrupted.
 ‘Good, there’s trouble at the chalet. Lawrence is tearing his hair out, he’s had to sack two already and he has a big Christmas party for very important clients and is at his wit’s end and doesn’t know what to do.’ 
‘Sack who… and what’s it to do with me?’ Eloise was puzzled. 
Desmond had inherited an ancient chalet in Switzerland from his parents’ years ago and had given it to his son 4 Lawrence, who was mad about skiing and mountains and now ran it as an expensive holiday let. 
‘A chef.’ Desmond almost shouted as if her ears were defective.
 ‘The one he had left unexpectedly… in a private plane with one of the guests. I warned Lawrence not to employ any attractive women, but he wouldn’t listen. But I was right and he was wrong: she made a beeline for some rich tycoon and ran off with him, leaving poor Lawrence in the lurch at this crucial time.’
 ‘I’m sorry, but…’ Eloise began, but Desmond went on, his voice getting louder and more strident. ‘And the last two chefs that arrived couldn’t cook an egg, but you can: you’re cordon bleu trained and you cook wonderfully and are reliable… aren’t you?’ he demanded. 
She was shell-shocked: she hadn’t seen Lawrence for years and hadn’t much liked him then. Had Desmond told him she would cook for a chalet full of people without even asking her first… and assured him that she was not attractive enough to lure away any passing zillionaires? It was years since she’d done the cordon bleu course and it was only a Foundation one, which in no way qualified her as a chef. 
She tried to explain this to Desmond, but he stopped her mid-flow, his voice calm as if he were soothing a wild animal. ‘My dear, I’ve no doubt you’ve been through a terrible time with your no-good husband, but you need to keep your wits about you, not waste away picking over every painful detail. Lawrence is frantic, he needs a chef at Jacaranda from now until early January and you’ve just said you’re free and you can cook. He’ll send you the fare and you’ll have a wage, board and lodging and even time to ski. Surely you’d jump at the chance?’ He sounded peevish.
 ‘You’ve sprung this on me, Desmond, let me think about it.’ She was stung by his remark about wasting life while she agonized over Harvey’s departure. It was true that she had lost much of her confidence over her divorce and no longer having the twins at home, and so making the two main points to her life – being a wife and mother – redundant almost simultaneously. 
‘But what are you doing for Christmas, Eloise. You sound as if you haven’t got anything planned,’ Desmond went on. 
‘I’m not sure, I’ve just moved house and…’ She was not going to say curl up with box sets and books and eat chocolate, which suddenly seemed very tempting, hiding away to nurse her wounds. 5
 ‘There you are then, problem solved. I’ll tell Lawrence to ring you at once. Jacaranda’s a lovely chalet… of course you know, having stayed there with me and dear Maddy and your parents… and didn’t you all come one Christmas when you and Joanna were children? Oh, what good times they were. I wish I wasn’t so old and infirm and could ski those slopes again.’ He sounded wistful. He went on, ‘You’ll love it, you know you will, all those stunning mountains and powdery snow.’
 ‘Oh Desmond it’s just that…’ but he cut her off once more. 
‘You can do it, Eloise, I know you can. Goodbye, my dear, and thank you.’ He rang off, leaving her reeling. She couldn’t possibly cook for a chalet full of rich, discerning guests, no doubt plagued with food fads. She must contact Lawrence at once and tell him that his father was mistaken. But she didn’t know his number, unless by some fluke she could find it from the times she’d stayed there years ago.
 She remembered the one Christmas she’d spent there as a child, with her family when she was about ten. A truly white Christmas with lashings of snow and she and Joanna making snowmen that lasted the whole time they were there. They’d given them names and been quite sad to leave them behind when they went home. 
She’d loved it, it was a truly wonderful place, but she hadn’t had to cook for difficult millionaires used to the very best. And yet it would be something different to focus on. Hadn’t she promised herself that after the divorce, when she was an independent woman again, she’d take on new challenges? Change the rhythm of her life so she wouldn’t feel so bereft. 
This last year had passed in a mist of pain and confusion with Harvey – who, she admitted, had been making for the exit for some time – finally leaving her, escaping the confines of marriage to ‘find himself’ as he put it, lured away by a large-breasted ‘sex toy’, as she thought her. 
Then, almost harder to bear, her beloved twins Kit and Lizzie, set off on their gap year to the other side of the world, relieved, she couldn’t help thinking but not blaming them, to escape their parents’ explosive break-up. 
It had been a strange sort of marriage, she admitted now, watching yet more boxes being trundled across to number 27. However many people were they going to entertain? Certainly more than her if she stayed home alone as she’d planned. 
Against all the odds their marriage had lasted just over twenty years, though early on, when the twins were babies, to keep her sanity, Eloise had forced herself to turn a blind eye or, rather, not delve too deeply into what Harvey got up to when he went away on his business trips. He worked in the travel industry, which mostly involved beaches and the occasional ski resort, and these, with their skimpy 6 clothing at one, and ski bunnies at the other, provided many opportunities for bedroom sports that she suspected Harvey indulged in. 
He adored the children and always came home to them, until they grew up, and were bitten by the travel bug, and soon after their father left they set out into a wider world, leaving their nest empty. She soon realized, or perhaps more likely accepted, that she was not enough for her husband. In fact since he had put on weight and his beautiful features were sinking into flabbiness he seemed to be more determined than ever to prove that he had not lost his power of seduction. 
The pain tugged tighter as she replayed the scene when he’d told her that he’d always love her, but he felt it was time – he made it sound like a supreme sacrifice on his part – for both of them to move on, breaking her heart. She was twenty-one when they married. It seemed a long time ago. Harvey was twenty eight. 
His parents had died in the same year, she remembered, and Harvey, their only child, had been born late in their marriage and no doubt spoilt rotten. He probably needed a home and someone to care for him, which she probably overdid, loving him so much… too much. When the twins were born two years later, and she had to spread her care for him more thinly, he could get quite grumpy if she couldn’t give him her full attention when he expected it, though he did adore his children. 
When she first met him, Harvey, encouraged by his friends, wanted to be an actor. With his dark smouldering eyes and manly torso, everyone said… well anyway his friends, he’d surely make a perfect romantic lead and even be a contender to play James Bond. But though he was animated in normal life, he became as wooden as a puppet in front of a camera or on stage. 
He tried modelling and Eloise still recalled, with a lurch of sick embarrassment, the time she’d gone to a smart lunch given by one of her girl friends from school. The women boasted about their husbands who were bankers, lawyers, politicians or doctors. 
When it came to her turn, she sort of panicked and bleated out that her husband was a lingerie model, causing shrieks and gasps of incredulity. She hadn’t meant to say it but explain he was modelling at the moment – in between acting jobs – true his speciality seemed to be swimming trunks, but he had also modelled an occasional suit. Regardless, this profession hardly featured in the same class as medicine or law. But in time – after he’d swapped the acting world for the travel world – when she’d met these other women’s husbands, she saw Harvey was by far the best-looking and far more exciting, and when some of their marriages broke down it was Harvey the women sought out to console them. She should have faced up to the signs back then, but somehow she never thought that Harvey would actually leave her, until the divorce had gone through. She kept his name, Brandon, it had been her name longer than the one she was born with and she didn’t want to change everything. They had to sell their family house and she’d been so busy finding and settling into this one and getting the twins off on their travels that Christmas had crept up on her almost without her noticing. She need not be alone for Christmas. 
She could go and stay with Joanna, her older sister, and her family in Scotland, and various friends had invited her to spend it with them, but touched though she was by their kindness, she couldn’t tell them that just now she couldn’t bear to be among happy families when hers had self-destructed. She found it painful to be with couples chatting about their plans, just as she and Harvey used to do: 
‘We are planning a holiday,’ ‘We need to buy a new car.’ Ordinary everyday things that she’d never noticed before she was alone. No, she would spend Christmas alone. It was only one day after all and she’d be perfectly happy with her box sets, books, wine and chocolate. 
The telephone rang again, setting her nerves on edge. Perhaps she’d let it go to the answer phone, but it could be the twins ringing from Tibet, so she answered it.
 ‘Eloise? Lawrence here, Desmond’ – he’d always called his father by his first name – ‘said you are a cordon bleu chef and free to come out here and cook for the Christmas guests.’ His voice was brisk with impatience as if he suspected he was wasting his time. Her confidence had already been smashed by the divorce and his tone of voice now smashed it further.
 ‘Oh… Lawrence, he did ring, I am cordon bleu… but hardly a…’ 
‘Look, Eloise, can you do it or not? I need you here by the weekend and to stay until the second week in January. The guests are sophisticated and used to the best. I want someone reliable and who’s not going to flirt with the guests, worse still run off with them,’ he added sourly. 
‘Desmond is convinced you’ll be able to do it, so can you?’
 ‘Did he say I was nothing to look at, not one to tempt away your paying guests?’ 
Despite her nerves she couldn’t resist teasing him. ‘You can look like the backside of a bus for all I care as long as you can cook,’ he retorted impatiently. His tone annoyed her now.
 ‘I think Desmond could have exaggerated my skills. I can cook, but I’m not a chef as such, and I’m not keen on those fussy little messes arranged in the middle of a plate, they’re too fiddly and far too time-consuming.’ 
 ‘I quite agree,’ he sounded friendlier. 
‘Look, I need roasts, fish dishes, duck, those sorts of things, good vegetables and puddings. People are hungry out here with all the mountain air, but they don’t want school dinners. Can you do it or not?’ She couldn’t, surely couldn’t please a man who sounded so particular? Or please his even more particular guests? But something deep inside her, long squashed by the break-up of her marriage, struggled to assert itself. Hadn’t she wanted to start afresh, change her life? Well, here was her chance. 
‘I’ll give it a go,’ she said, feeling rather weak at the challenge. 
‘Good,’ Lawrence said, ‘let’s hope it works out. Over Christmas I’ve some very important people booked in and it must not go wrong. I’ll email your ticket, give me your details, you’ll fly out to Geneva on Friday and I’ll send Theo, my son, to pick you up and drive you up here.’
 ‘Will he hold up a sign with my name on or something so I can recognize him?’ 
‘Of course. OK, Eloise, see you then, and please, I’m depending on you, don’t let me down’.
 He made it sound as if it was life or death, which perhaps it was, and he rang off. His son… he must be old enough to drive, did Lawrence have a wife there too and why couldn’t she cook, or was she too glamorous, floating about as the perfect hostess? Panic hit again, what on earth did she think she was doing, agreeing to cook for a chalet full of rich – and probably spoilt people? She didn’t want to go, she wanted to hide away, to lick her wounds, hibernate from the world and emerge feeling stronger in the spring. 
She picked up the telephone and dialled ring back and wrote down Lawrence’s number. It was late now and she was exhausted, she’d call him in the morning and tell him she would not be able to come to Jacaranda after all.

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Saturday, 27 August 2016

Review of A Very Grey Christmas by T.A. Foster

A Very Grey Christmas
T.A. Foster
Publication Date: 13th December 2015
Publisher: Raven Companies Press
Pages: 84
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 

Amazon UK / Amazon US 

I was getting ready to spend the single most important holiday of the year alone. Completely and utterly alone.
That meant he wouldn’t be there Christmas Eve. No making Christmas cookies, or listening to my dad sing off-key while my mom bustled around wrapping last-minute gifts. No decorating the tree. No midnight Christmas kiss. 
No waking up in Grey’s arms. We were actually going to spend our very first Christmas in different states.
That was until Grey gave me the most unexpected gift of my life.
A Very Grey Christmas is a sweet novella that will get you in the mood for Christmas even though it is still Summer, well here in the UK it is anyway. I haven't read any of the other books in the Kissing Eden series, so I was a bit confused at first but after reading a few pages I was able to get some idea of what had happened and the lovely, yet challenging relationship that Eden and Grey have. 
When Eden had dreamt of the perfect Christmas, she had expected Grey to be there and not hundreds of miles away. When Eden goes home to spend the Christmas with her family, she knows she is going to miss Grey more than anything but you know what they say about Christmas it is a time for miracles and maybe, Eden will get hers this year.
I loved that even though Eden loved Grey a lot, she was still willing to spending time with her family who are also very important to her as well. Also, I loved Eden's family they were funny and very similar to most families, having them in the book made it more enjoyable for me, mainly as family and Christmas as very important to me as a lot of people would agree also. 
My favourite character would have to be Eden, I loved reading about her and Grey's relationship and how it makes her feel. They are both very emotionally driven characters yet perfect for each other at the same time. Making this a very sexy, yet swoon-worthy read. 
My favourite part of A Very Grey Christmas would have to be towards the end of the book and it involves Christmas decorations and is very sexy. That is all I am going to tell you as you have to read it for yourself, otherwise I will spoil it for you which I don't want to do! 
A Very Grey Christmas is a sweet romantic Christmas story that will make you fill with Christmas warmth and spirit even in August. With its beautiful setting, loveable characters and a dashing yet romantic male character, it should be on everyone's Christmas list!
Sexy, Touching and Romantic.

Another day, another book,
post signature

Thursday, 14 July 2016

Blog Tour - Review of When I Found You by Kate James plus Giveaway!

On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

When I Found You (K-9 Trilogy, #3)When I Found You
(K-9 Trilogy #3)
by Kate James
Genre? Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook,
365 pages
Publication Date: July 1st 2016
Publisher: Harlequin Heartwarming

Is she part of the solution…or the problem?
It could be a terrorist threat. Or is it some other sinister plot? An unprecedented rash of security breaches at San Diego's international airport is putting passengers at risk and bringing the competence of the airport's chief of security, Ariana Atkins, into question. With explosives the weapon of choice, police K-9 unit captain Logan O'Connor and his bomb detection dog, Boomer, might be Ariana's best, if not only, line of defense. Logan is certain his belief in Ariana, and his growing love for her, aren't misplaced…but it wouldn't be the first time he's misjudged someone's intentions.

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin

I think that this is the first book I have read by Kate James and it was such a emotional read that is truly amazing from start to finish. I love books that feature animals and this one definitely has animals, mainly dogs! From what I can understand some of the characters have featured in other books of the K-9 series, I haven't read these but I definitely want to after reading When I Found You.
Logan O'Connor is a man who has seen and experienced a lot, so he has put up walls to protect himself from others and in a way himself as well. The only one who knows the real him is his lovely dog, he is everything to Logan and they have been through a lot together.
Ariana Atkins has the important job of Chief of Security at San Diego airport, yet when a incident happened she is thrown into something she hasn't really know before... self doubt. When her and Logan start working together, it is an instant spark, but Ariana wants to put her job first as the most important thing at the moment is finding out who is trying to drive her crazy and committing crimes at the same time.
My favourite character would have to be Boomer, I don't think I really need to explain why?! He is such a great support and companion for his owner. I loved the whole theme of the story, it was heart-warming yet emotional, a story that touches your heart and your life in more ways than one.
When I Found You is not a book to be missed, I loved Kate's style of writing and how she take a story and makes it so much more than that, she makes it a home away from home.

Heartbreaking, Emotional and Magical. 

Other Books in the Series

When the Right One Comes Along (K-9 Trilogy, #1)When the Right One Comes Along
(K-9 Trilogy #1)
by Kate James
Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 293 Pages
October 1st 2015 by Harlequin

Brought together by disaster. Kept together by love.
In the aftermath of a deadly earthquake, it's chaos for trauma surgeon Jessica Hansen. Among the many victims, one patient stands out—San Diego Police K-9 search and rescue officer Cal Palmer.
Cal vows to help Kayla, a child orphaned by the disaster. But he needs Jessica's help. Will their shared concern for Kayla and for Cal's canine partner, Scout, allow them to put aside their personal torments and discover the difference love can make?

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin

When Love Matters Most (The K-9 Trilogy, #2)When Love Matters Most
(K-9 Trilogy #2)
by Kate James
Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 368 pages
January 1st 2016 by Harlequin Heartwarming

Keeping her safe at all costs
Could their backgrounds be any more different? Rick Vasquez, a K-9 unit sergeant with the San Diego Police Department, fled drug-related violence in Mexico as a boy. Madison Long, who recently became primary veterinarian to the SDPD's canines, is the privileged daughter of a judge. Rick has dedicated his life to curtailing cross-border drug trafficking and preventing other young boys from being drawn into the dark world of the cartels.
But everything Rick and Madison value, and the growing love between them, is threatened by the dangers of Rick's job, and the risks he's determined to take…

Kate James spent much of her childhood abroad before attending university in Canada. She built a successful business career, but her passion has always been literature. As a result, Kate turned her energy to her love of the written word. Her writing has been recognized with a number of awards, including first place honors for Silver Linings in both the First Coast Romance Writers’ Published Beacon Contest and Ancient City Romance Authors’ Heart of Excellence Readers’ Choice Award. Her November 2014 Harlequin Heartwarming release, A Child’s Christmas, received first-place honors from Southern Magic, the Birmingham Chapter of the Romance Writers of America, for the 2015 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, placed second in the Ancient City Romance Authors’ Heart of Excellence Readers’ Choice Award, and was a finalist in RWA’s Desert Rose Chapter’s Golden Quill Award and the Colorado Romance Writers’ Award of Excellence. Finally, her October 2015 release, When the Right One Comes Along, the first book in her K-9 trilogy, has received a Best Book of 2015 award in the contemporary category. She and her husband, Ken, enjoy traveling and the outdoors with their beloved Labrador Retrievers, Harley and Logan. Kate would love to hear from you! You can connect with her by e-mail, through her website, her Facebook pageTwitter, or mail at PO Box 446, Schomberg, ON, L0G 1T0, Canada.

Tour Schedule

July 5th: Launch
July 8th: Becky on Books
July 11th: EskieMama Reads
July 11th: Brooke Blogs
July 12th: Wishful Endings
July 13th: Mel's Shelves
July 15th: deal sharing aunt
June 18th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway

US/CAN PRIZE PACK: one K-9 trilogy women’s T-shirt, tote bag and a mug, a signed copy of the award-winning first book in the trilogy, When the Right One Comes Along, a signed copy of The Truth About Hope, signed book plates and a bag of Tim Horton’s coffee.
-Open to US/CAN only
-Ends July 24th
Grab Our Button!
Another day, another book, 
post signature