Thursday, 1 December 2016

Blog Tour - The Children Of Lovely Lane by Nadine Dorries plus Extract!


The Children Of Lovely Lane
By Nadine Dorries
Publication Date: 1st December 2016
Publisher: Head Of Zeus
Pages: 489
Genre: Historical, Drama
Format: Hardback 
Source: Publisher

Amazon UK / Amazon US

The nurses of Lovely Lane – Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth – are now in their second year and are about to face some truly harrowing and difficult times on the wards.
St Angelus needs a new assistant matron, but the members of the Liverpool District Hospital Board have overruled Emily Haycock and Dr Gaskell in their choice. Enter the mysterious Miss Van Gilder from somewhere down south.
The life of St Angelus is soon disrupted as her proposals turn the running of the hospital upside down and threaten the jobs of the domestics and porters. But Miss Van Gilder harbours a dark and dishonest secret, and the staff – who are used to looking after their own – set out to uncover it.
Will they do so in time, before her meddling begins to affect the morale of the nurses and put the lives of their patients in danger? For one very sick little boy, especially, it will be touch and go.

Ever since I read The Angels Of Lovely Lane, I couldn't wait to see what happened next. For me that one and this book stuck in my mind, I am not sure if it is the characters, the storyline or the author's words but it has really touched my heart. 
After reading the first couple of chapters, I was so pleased to see the familiar characters and places. The nurses of St Angelus are thriving in their careers and everyone is routing for them to do well. (I know I was!) I loved Sister Therese, she is such a unique character. While she is representing God and his views, she is also trying to help those's in need as well. She even has a few tricks up her sleeve to do so. (You will see what I mean when you read it!) 
There are quite a few changes happening at St Angelus, not all of them are good. Especially when a new assistant matron is hired and she is about to make all of the staff's lives harder than they need to be. The St Angelus girls (Dana, Victoria, Pammy and Beth) are just the way I remember them from the first book. All different, all have their own hardships and stories that lead them to St Angelus but it is those reasons that make them such likeable and passionate characters to read about. 
This book is no different in that sense, although along with their stories is a couple of others now as well. Each heartbreaking and tragic yet it is the people who help them when they need it most, they are the ones who show them what real decent human beings are like. 
I have already said how much I loved Sister Therese but I loved all the main character. Each one is unique in their own way and to me, I could imagine and picture them as real life people and not just characters in a book. 
The Children Of Lovely Lane is simply amazing. I really don't think any words I use will do the book justice. Although I will say you have to read it, it will warm your warm and make you see the real angels in the world. 
Captivating, Phenomenal and Touching. 



Chapter three 

If there was one thing Lily Lancashire hated more than anything else in the whole world, it was the sound of children playing.
 Home for Lily was Clare Cottages, situated on the bank of the River Mersey on the Old Dock Road. She thought that the person who had named the ugly, four-storey, soot-blackened redbrick tenement buildings had either been drunk or cruel, giving the cottages such a pretty name. ‘We only agreed to move here because it sounded so nice,’ she often heard the neighbours say. ‘What a joke. Someone in the corpy was ’avin’ a right laugh there.’
 ‘The corpy’ was the Liverpool Corporation, the landlord of Clare Cottages. It was the corpy that had decided to move the bombed-out residents of Scotland Road, where there had been up to four large families to every house, to the already overcrowded Clare Cottages. 
Those who complained about the condition of Clare Cottages were the ones who took pride in their homes, who washed their net curtains and scrubbed the step, who borrowed dolly blue for their laundry from each other when they’d run out. Lily’s mother, much to Lily’s shame, was not one of those women. Her mother never jumped out of bed on a bright and breezy day, eager to get the nets on the line, never helped other women on the same landing to bounce a pram full of wet washing down the steps to the courtyard, was never one to pop in and out of their neighbours’ homes. 
 Lily wished her mam could be more like Mrs McGuffy, who installed herself in the courtyard as self-appointed guardian of the washing lines. 
‘I’ll watch the nets don’t blow off,’ Mrs McGuffy would shout when the weather was fine. ‘You just send our Billy down with the chair and me fags. Me bleedin’ leg ulcers will only let me do those stairs once a day.’ And there she would sit, all day long, surrounded by a plume of blue smoke, her face turned to the sun, the hot metal of her curlers burning into her scalp, the black tar on the top of the bin sheds melting. 
As soon as the nets were dry, she’d round up the cottage kids and instruct them to return the curtains, sun-bleached and folded, to whichever home they’d been sent from, and to bring out the next batch for the lines and a fresh cuppa for herself. There was always a chipped and brown-stained cup on top of the metal bin beside her and when she finished the tea, she used the dregs to extinguish the last of her cigarette. Mrs McGuffy was a demon for cleanliness and objected to anyone throwing a ciggie butt on to the concrete floor of the washing yard, even if it was in the middle of the worst housing in Liverpool. ‘Chuck that stub down the sink, would you, love, before you fill the cup up,’ she would say to whichever kid she sent for a refill. The kids didn’t always remember, but it didn’t matter, the tea was so strong and sweet, she drank it anyway. 
There were two distinct types of families in Clare Cottages. There were those with mothers like Mrs McGuffy, who scrubbed children and steps with equal vigour and regularity. They cleaned windows, baked biscuits, visited the wash house on the same day every week and took their children to the public bath house on Saturday nights, ready for church on Sunday. Such families were free from lice and scurvy. Their children did not stagger around on rail-thin legs or rub at weeping eyes. Their hair was not lank through lack of food and their skin was not permanently darkened as a result of ingrained dirt. They were rarely cold. 
 Families such as Lily’s, on the other hand, had parents who shunned Mass at St Chad’s, preferring to worship at the bar in the Red Admiral public house. They lived in homes where there was no routine of orderliness or cleanliness. Where a trip to the public bath house came rarely, usually when a visit from the welfare inspector loomed or the lice had become too numerous to bear; homes where food came, not always, but usually once a day. No one asked these mothers for a loan of the dolly blue. The nets and bedding in these homes were the colour of a miserable winter sky. 

Another day, another book, 
    post signature

Monday, 28 November 2016

Review of The Darkest Goodbye by Alex Gray


The Darkest Goodbye
By Alex Gray
Publication Date: 3rd March 2016
Publisher: Sphere
Pages: 400
Genre: Crime, Thriller, Mystery
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US


When an elderly woman is found dead at her home, newly fledged DC Kirsty Wilson is called to the scene. It appears that the woman had a mysterious visitor in the early hours of that morning - someone dressed as a carer, but with much darker intentions. It soon becomes obvious that this was not death by natural causes, in fact, it was murder. 
Before she can catch her breath, DC Wilson is thrown in at the deep end as another body turns up - this time it's a gruesome crime scene, the victim a well-known drug dealer from Glasgow's mean streets, and there's no question that this was a brutal execution. The two cases appear to have nothing in common, but when a second vulnerable person is murdered in their sleep, the police realise that it's only a matter of time before the next victim emerges and Detective Superintendent William Lorimer is called in to help DC Wilson investigate. 
This case is big and it's about to get more personal than either of them could have imagined...


Before, I write my review I have a confession to make... I haven't read any of the other books in the series. Although to be fair, I didn't realise till half way though that it was part of a bigger series. Anyway, I will definitely read the previous ones as if The Darkest Goodbye is anything to go on then they will be absolutely brilliant as well.  
DC Kirsty Wilson is fresh of the streets and has landed herself a new job as a DC, something she has wanted to be for years. She followed in her father's footstep and now that he is retiring she wants to make him as proud as he made her. Her first case is a robbery of a jewellery store, something that has been happening a lot around the city but it is her next case that is the one that she is unprepared for. Someone who is killing people unnoticed until now. All of the people have had illnesses that have impacted on their quality of life, it looks innocent enough until they find a high dose of a drug in on victim's blood. 
So when a drug dealer is killed in Glasgow, nobody expects these two cases to be linked together until they realise that they are and that someone somewhere is pulling the strings to a much bigger plan and they need to find out who before it is too late and someone else dies unnecessary. 
DS William Lorimer is the main character of the book, he works along side DC Wilson as they gather evidence to find out the real person behind the weird things happening. Although things take a strange turn when someone in his family becomes a victim to the mass murderer, he realises that this person will stop at nothing to get what they want. 
Along side this story, there is another story about a nurse who works in the nursing home where a number of people had died due to the mass murderer. She has secrets of her own, ones that put her in prison years ago, only to be released recently. Her life has changed a lot, so when her past comes back to find her, she is unprepared for the events that will link her to the mass murderer. 
I loved this book, it was fast paced and over before I knew it. I couldn't believe how fast I read it and now I have to wait ages for the next in the series. If you haven't read a book by Alex Gray before then you definitely should, she is an amazing writer who really digs deep into her work to give you the best story. I will definitely be read the next one, that is after I read this one again!

Dark, Unexpected and Thrilling. 


Another day, another book, 
       post signature

Saturday, 26 November 2016

Review of Wrong Number by Carys Jones

Wrong Number
By Carys Jones
Publication Date: 1st January 2017
Publisher: Aria 
Pages: 330
Genre: Psychological Thriller, Thriller 
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US




A missing husband. Mysterious calls. And the biggest lie of them all. 

Read with caution - you may never want to answer your phone again...
Will and Amanda Thorn are living the dream until, one day, their phone rings. Within 24 hours, Will is missing and Amanda’s world is shattered.
Who was on the phone?  Where has Will gone?
Amanda is determined to find her husband and is drawn into a world of drug dealers, criminal masterminds and broken promises.
As the truth becomes clearer, she has to face the terrible possibility that she may never have known her husband at all...


WOW!! If I could get away with writing that for my review I would but I can't but it really does sum up my whole take of Wrong Number. 
I was a bit afraid to read Wrong Number at first, mainly because the blurb and how they ring Amanda's house and I was worried it was going to be like a horror in the making but thankfully it wasn't too scary. (Mainly as I read it in the night as well.)
Amanda Thorn is your typical woman, she works from home, is married to a perfect man who walked into her life at the right moment and they have a wonderful marriage. That is until, one call changed everything Amanda had ever believed and known in less than 24 hours. 
 Will Thorn is a normal man, goes jogging every morning, drives to work and loves to spend his free time with his wife. Although, he isn't a normal man at all, he has secrets. Secrets that could destroy the life he has built for himself, secrets that only he knows and would be willing to die for. 
When Amanda gets a strange call from a man asking to speak to someone who didn't live there, Amanda didn't think anything of it. So when she says about it to Will later that night, she isn't expecting the chain-reaction of events that follow. Waking to find Will gone, Amanda is thrown into a world of uncertainty and not knowing what happened to him. 
Although, Will isn't who anyone though he would be and Amanda realises that her life with him has been a lie and that she is married to someone she doesn't really know at all. 
I couldn't believe the twists and turns that Wrong Number takes, it is thrilling and exciting all at the same time. I loved Amanda's character as similar to most female lead character's she is strong and determined but she is only heartbroken and doesn't know who to trust. This story made me have a range of different emotions, sadness for Amanda, unable to trust Will's character as you can't tell what is real and what isn't and loss not just for Amanda but for Will as well. I won't say what but if you read their story then you will see what I mean. 
Wrong Number is so much more than a psychological thriller, it is a story about trusting the people we know, thinking we know them when we don't and love them regardless of the lies that they tell us as they always sound so believable. I can't wait for the next part in this series. 

Unpredictable, Thrilling and Captivating. 


Another day, another book, 
   post signature

Monday, 14 November 2016

Blog Tour - The Affair by Amanda Brooke plus Q&A!


The Affair
By Amanda Brooke
Publication Date: 10th November 2016
Publisher: Harper Collins 
Pages: 448
Genre: Fiction, Drama
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley


Amazon UK / Amazon US / Book Depository / Wordery 




A shocking story about a fifteen-year-old girl and the man who took advantage of her
“You might as well know from the start, I’m not going to tell on him and I don’t care how much trouble I get in. It’s not like it could get any worse than it already is.
I can’t. Don’t ask me why, I just can’t.”

When Nina finds out that her fifteen-year-old daughter, Scarlett, is pregnant, her world falls apart.

Because Scarlet won’t tell anyone who the father is. And Nina is scared that the answer will destroy everything.

As the suspects mount – from Scarlett’s teacher to Nina’s new husband of less than a year – Nina searches for the truth: no matter what the cost.

This is the first book of Amanda's that I read and what a book it is!? Nina has been a single mother for so long but lately that has changed, meeting a wonderful man and marrying him something she never thought she would ever be doing. For Nina everything seems perfect, that was until her fifteen year old daughter, Scarlett gets pregnant. Suddenly, the whole family's lives are thrown into turmoil and Nina doesn't know who to trust and can't believe how much her life changed in a split second. Vicki is married to Scarlett's teacher, she is having a hard time what with looking after her baby and her mother who isn't very well. I didn't feel as connected to Vicki as much as I did Nina, although I do feel for the events that happen throughout the book which flips her whole world upside down. 
The main part of the story is Scarlett's pregnancy and the affair that she has been having, you get hints about who it could be. Personally, I thought it was one person but once I got deeper into the book, I realised how wrong I was. It is shocking and unbelievable. The issue of Scarlett's pregnancy is one that is a very important subject, she is only fifteen years old. It tells of the issues surrounding teenage pregnancy really well, something that a lot of people will find interesting and important as it is happening more and more to young people. 
The Affair takes you on a ride that will make you question everything you read. With its twists and turns, it is unpredictable and brilliant in the way that the story is told. My favourite character would have to be Nina, I love how protective and strong she is as a woman and mother. She is also willing to do anything to get to the truth, no matter what. Her determination and strength is so important to her character. 
Unpredictable, Amazing and Unexpected. 


23 Review Street
Q&A with Amanda Brooke

Hi Amanda, thank you so much for being on 23 Review Street today, I am so excited to ask you questions about your book and writing. Your new book ‘The Affair’ is an amazing read, I loved reading it. How did you come up with the plot?
Thank you so much for having me on your blog. The quick answer to your question is that I have no idea how I came up with the plot! Unlike some of my books where I can remember exactly where I was when I had that first flash of inspiration, The Affair was one of those stories that was an amalgamation of different ideas. To some degree, I drew upon the fears I’d harboured when my daughter was a teenager, but the plot itself evolved slowly over time. My initial synopsis bears no relation to the book I ended up with, and I’d originally focused on a character who didn’t even make it into the final story; a young teacher who walks out on her class and her career.  I’m reluctant to say anymore because I think I would be giving too much away.

‘The Affair’ has a lot of different characters, do you have a favourite one to write about?
That is such a difficult question, it would be like choosing a favourite child. In The Affair, I write mostly from the perspective of Nina, who is Scarlett’s mum and Vikki who is the wife of Scarlett’s teacher, and I enjoyed writing both of their stories. I loved the ‘then and now,’ aspect of the novel where I could contrast their understanding of what was going on at the time, with what they were able to see with hindsight. I would also add that I really enjoyed writing in Scarlett’s voice. She’s the only character I write in the first person so she becomes more of a narrator who lets the reader in on some, if not all, of her secrets.

The story draws on some serious issues that happen in real life not just fiction that makes it all the more significant and interesting. Who do you think will find ‘The Affair’ the most relatable?
I’m hoping the book will appeal to a wide audience. Although the main focus of the story is the inappropriate relationship between an older man and an underage girl, I explore lots of other relationships too; husbands and wives, mothers and daughters, friendships. For me personally, I related most to Nina because of her relationship with Scarlett. My daughter is twenty one now and I’m so proud of the young woman she has become, but I worried all my way through her teenage years. I suppose I feel guilty putting Nina through one of those ‘worst nightmare,’ scenarios, and I’ll confess, I was crying buckets when I wrote her final scenes with Scarlett.

Who are your favourite authors/books to read?
If you browse my bookshelves, you’d be forgiven for thinking you were looking at a collection from a wide variety of readers. I love so many different genres but one of the first authors I fell in love with was Jane Austen… quickly followed by JRR Tolkien. Also included in my favourites list would be Dean Koontz, Terry Pratchett, Cecelia Ahern, Diane Chamberlain and Marian Keyes. I could go on…

Do you have any plans for future books at the moment?
I’m in the fortunate position of having amazing support from my publisher, HarperCollins who have tasked me with writing two books a year for the next few years.  That’s a pretty challenging schedule so I always have at least one work in progress, although right now I’m juggling two books. The Truth is due out in the summer next year and is about a woman with a secret that she has buried so well that even she can’t admit to herself what really happened. The Obsession will follow in 2018 and tackles the issue of stalking.

If you had to sum up your writing style in three words, what would they be?
Heartfelt, intense, uplifting.

Thank you so much for answering my questions and being on my blog. I can’t wait to read what you write next!

Thank you for some very interesting questions!



Amanda Brooke
I live in Liverpool with my daughter Jessica and writing was most definitely a late discovery.  I didn’t really begin to explore creative writing until I was almost 40, at which point my young son Nathan was fighting for his life.  Poetry and keeping a journal helped me through those difficult times and the darker times to come when he died in 2006.  He was three years old.
I continued to write and in 2010 I was fortunate enough to find an agent.  Luigi Bonomi has a fantastic reputation which is truly deserved and with his help we transformed my first manuscript.  Shortly afterwards in 2011 I was offered a book deal with HarperCollins.

My first novel Yesterday’s Sun was published in January 2012 and I was absolutely thrilled when it was selected for the Richard and Judy Spring Book Club List.
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 19 October 2016

Blog Tour - Dan & Nat Got Married by Jon Rance plus Q&A!


The British romantic comedy you need to read this year. 
From the bestselling author of This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings and Sunday Dinners, comes a brilliantly funny romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Love Actually, Notting Hill and Bridget Jones.
Marriage can be difficult. Especially when you've only just met. Meet Dan Fox, 34, an online marketing manager from Clapham, who was jilted at the altar two years ago by the love of his life and hasn’t dated since.
Nat Howard, 32, is living back at home with her parents in Dorking after her perfect boyfriend dumped her and she had to move out of his bespoke flat in Putney.
On separate Stag and Hen weekends in Las Vegas, Dan and Nat wake up married. Both too drunk to remember what happened, they return to England and try to get on with their lives. But there was something about Nat that makes the usually cautious Dan think they should give their marriage a go. Nat’s still in love with her Ex, but maybe Dan can help mend her broken heart. 
Can marriage between two relative strangers really work? And when Nat's ex-boyfriend - the gorgeous Charlie - comes back into her life, she must decide - something old or something new? 
Set in London, Dan And Nat Got Married, is a funny and full of heart modern romantic comedy about marriage, relationships, and giving love a second chance.

Amazon UK / Amazon US

Q & A with Jon Rance 

Would you be able to tell us a bit more about ‘Dan And Nat Got Married’?

Hello! Thanks so much for having me on your blog. I’m so excited to be here and to talk about my new novel. Dan And Nat Got Married, is a romantic comedy novel set in London. It’s about two people, Dan, 34, an online marketing manager from Clapham, and Nat, 32, an office temp who lives at home with her parents in Dorking, who wake up in Las Vegas married. They’re both there on separate stag and hen weekends, and after a heavy night out drinking, they wake up with no memory of what happened, but both wearing wedding rings. They return to England, and for different reasons, they decide to give their marriage a go. Nat moves in with Dan and we follow them as they attempt to be married. Of course, when old loves and new problems arise, it tests them and we see if it’s really possible for two relative strangers to make marriage work. Dan And Nat Got Married, is a funny, full of heart modern love story about marriage, relationships, and giving love a second chance.  

How did you come up with Dan and Nat’s story?

This is my fifth novel - I know, I can’t believe it either - and before I started it I knew I wanted to write a proper romantic comedy. I love a great romantic comedy and although all of my novels do feature romance and are generally comedies, I’ve never really set out to write one. So before I started I read a lot of romantic comedy novels and watched a lot of films. I wanted to write the very best rom com I could. I knew I wanted it to be set in London and I wanted my story to be fresh, quirky, and different. So once I started I knew I wanted my characters to meet in a very different way and once I decided that two strangers would wake up married in Las Vegas, I had the idea and everything else just played off that.

The thing about the premise is that it has to be different, new, and in this case slightly outrageous, but it also has to feel real. Yes, it’s unlikely you’ll ever end up married to a stranger in Las Vegas and even more unlikely that if that did happen, you’d decide to give that marriage a go. So my biggest challenge was giving both Dan and Nat realistic reasons why they decide to be married despite not really knowing each other. I’m not going to say what they are, but I think it works. The early reviews definitely seem to approve anyway.

Out of all the books you have wrote, which would you say has been your favourite to write and why?

This one, definitely. I don’t know how other writers feel, but for me writing a book means becoming completely invested in the characters. I’m writing their story, so for me how much I enjoy the process and the outcome really comes down to which characters I enjoyed spending the time with. I’ve enjoyed all of my books, but I think for this one the characters really do shine brighter than any of my other books. There are also a lot of characters in this book I loved so much. Beyond Dan and Nat, their two best friends, Adam and Ellie were an absolute joy to write. I’ve already had one reviewer ask me if Adam and Ellie are going to have their own novel as they enjoyed them so much. For me this book was an absolute joy to write from start to finish because once I had the characters and the premise, everything else just sort of fell into place. I even loved writing the “baddie” character, Charlie, who is Nat’s ex-boyfriend because he’s basically the man we all want to be; intelligent, successful, good-looking, and sexy. I also really loved writing about London because it’s my favourite city in the world.

What inspires you when writing?

Firstly, our mortgage because we have to pay that and have a roof over our heads. My wife and children always inspire me because they support me and what I do so much. Outside of them it’s very much reading other novels, watching television and films, and being inspired by all that creativity. All of those things whether it’s a novel, TV show, or movie, all begin with people like me sitting down on a Monday morning and staring at a blank screen. I love the creative process and I love being creative and being surrounded by it really keeps me wanting to write more, be better, and more successful.

Who is your favourite author and why?

Wow that’s a big question. I have a few favourite authors. Mike Gayle, David Nicholls, Mhairi McFarlane, Lisa Jewell, Andy Jones, Matt Dunn, Nick Spalding, Nick Hornby, Christina Hopkinson, are my current, modern favourites. There’s a lot of other authors from other generations that I love too. But from the above list I would have to say David Nicholls. For me David just writes the perfect novels. I’ve enjoyed each of his books so much and they’re always so engaging and you get lost in them. But like I said, there are a lot of incredible authors out there. I just wish I had more time to read them all.

If you could collaborate with any other author, who would it be and why?

That’s a great question. I recently read, ‘The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me’, by Jimmy Rice and Laura Tait. It’s an excellent read and a wonderful book, but what makes it interesting is that Jimmy and Laura wrote alternate chapters. In Dan And Nat Got Married, you get both perspectives, but both were written by me. In, ‘The Best Thing That Never Happened To Me’, you get the male and female perspective written by a man and a woman. It’s a very unique book and it works really well. So I think I’d like to write with a woman and maybe we could do something similar. With that in mind I’d love to work with Mhairi McFarlane because she writes very high end romantic comedies with brilliant characters, unique plots, and I just love her style of writing. I think together we could create something very special!

What advice would you give aspiring authors/writers?

The best advice I can give to young or aspiring authors is just to do it and to live your life. I spent a lot of my twenties talking about writing, but not really doing it. I was, however, living my life and a lot of those experiences have appeared and inspired by books. You need experiences to have something you want to say, so get out there, live your life and maybe keep a notepad to jot some of them down. But at some point you’ll need to actually write.

Writing isn’t easy, but if you have something you want to say, a story you want to tell, then get it down. Stop making excuses and just do it. There’s no better way to learn how to write than to actually write. I’d also say, make sure you get decent feedback from other writers - there’s a few websites you can join to help with this - and also don’t be afraid. The publishing world moves quickly and no-one’s going to wait until you’re ready. You need to tackle it head on and give it your best shot. Don’t ever be afraid to toot your own horn because no-one else will - and no that isn’t a euphemism!

Thanks so much for having me. It’s been an absolute pleasure!  


Jon Rance is the author of four novels: the Kindle top ten bestseller, This Thirtysomething Life, Happy Endings (both published by Hodder and Stoughton), This Family Life and Sunday Dinners. He's also the author of the short story prequel, This Twentysomething Life and the Christmas novella, A Notting Hill Christmas. His fifth novel, Dan And Nat Got Married, will be published this October. 

Jon studied English Literature at Middlesex University, London, before going travelling and meeting his American wife in Australia. Jon loves comedy (especially sitcoms), the films of Richard Curtis, travelling and tea. He just turned forty, which is a terrifying time, so his books might get a bit edgier and possibly angrier as a result.

Jon writes dramatic, romantic, comedy fiction similar to the work of Mike Gayle, Matt Dunn, Nick Spalding and David Nicholls.

Twitter / Goodreads / Website 

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Wednesday, 21 September 2016

'Waiting On Wednesday' - Snowfall On Haven Point by RaeAnne Thayne


"Waiting On Wednesday" is a weekly event that is hosted by Breaking The Spine
 It gives the chance to show new book release that are coming out soon. The book that I am looking forward to is Snowfall On Haven Point by RaeAnne Thayne. 


There's no place like Haven Point for the holidays, where the snow conspires to bring two wary hearts together for a Christmas to remember  
It's been two rough years since Andrea Montgomery lost her husband, and all she wants is for her children to enjoy their first Christmas in Haven Point. But then Andie's friend asks a favor—to keep an eye on her brother, Sheriff Marshall Bailey, who's recovering from a hit and run. Andie will do anything for Wyn, even park her own misgivings to check on her grouchy, wounded bear of a brother. 
Marshall hates feeling defenseless and resents the protective impulses that Andie brings out in him. But when a blizzard forces them together for the holidays, something in Marshall begins to thaw. Andie's gentle nature is a salve, and her kids' excitement for the holidays makes him forget why he never wanted a family. If only he and Andie can admit what they really want—each other—their Christmas wishes might come true after all.

I have been a fan of RaeAnne Thayne since I seen one of her books recommended for me on Amazon, I loved the type of stories that RaeAnne wrote and with the eye-catching covers they are simply amazing. When I saw Snowfall On Haven Point was getting released I couldn't help but read the blurb and fell straight in love with this story and the characters, and that just from the blurb!!

Snowfall On Haven Point is out on the 27th September 2016.

Amazon UK / Amazon US / Book Depository / Wordery

What would your 'Waiting On Wednesday' be? If you want to tell me your 'Waiting On Wednesday' let me know in the comments or on Twitter

Another day, another book, 
     post signature

Monday, 19 September 2016

Review of Make Me Forget #1 by Beth Kery

Make Me Forget #1
By Beth Kery
Publication Date: 5th April 2016
Publisher: Headline Eternal 
Pages: 79
Genre: Romance, Erotica, Contemporary
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US


Harper McFaddan has made her name as an investigative journalist by being both compassionate and fearless. After tragedy strikes her family, she moves to the shores of Lake Tahoe to find some peace. But when mysterious software mogul Jacob Latimer comes into her life, her thoughts turn from her own healing to an urgent need to get closer to him...

Jacob Latimer is the definition of a self-made man. The software entrepreneur built his corporation from nothing, but rumors abound about the shadiness of his rise to power  and no one knows what secrets lurk in his past. Harper is the last person he should let into his life. As an investigative journalist, she’s the one person who could expose his hidden origins. But Jacob knows things about Harper’s past that make him irresistibly drawn to her. He wants nothing more than to make her his—and Jacob is a man who always gets what he wants...
Well the first thing I have to say about Make Me Forget is that it is a book that I will never be able to forget, it is simply amazing!!
 Harper McFaddan is all about good and honest news stories, with a couple of troubled years behind her, she is more focused on the future and her career. So when she get a strange request to attend a party being held by no other than the Jacob Latimer, software god, she is confused yet enthralled at the same time. 
Jacob Latimer has worked his whole life to be something, his software breakthrough put him on the map and before he knew it he was something  as well as someone people wanted to be. Although Jacob has secrets he longs to hide, not just from others but from himself. Inviting Harper to his party not only affected his future but his past as well, and if there is something people who come across Jacob know is he always gets what he wants.
I love this first book in this new series by Beth Kery, I have adored her work for several years now and with every new book I wish there were more like it. I love both Harper and Jacob, not just their characters but their complex issues and pasts, they have both been through rough times but their strong wills shows that it can only make them stronger in the end. This is something I love read about in books, it gives the book its drive and passion not just for the characters but the story as well. 
Make Me Forget is a brilliant start to this series, with its passion, hidden secrets and ending that will make you want to read the next book straight away, it is a book series that I know I am going love from start to finish. 
Amazing, Enthralling and Charming. 


Another day, another book, 
     post signature