Saturday, 27 August 2016

Review of A Very Grey Christmas by T.A. Foster

A Very Grey Christmas
T.A. Foster
Publication Date: 13th December 2015
Publisher: Raven Companies Press
Pages: 84
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult
Format: eBook
Source: Netgalley 


Amazon UK / Amazon US 



I was getting ready to spend the single most important holiday of the year alone. Completely and utterly alone.
That meant he wouldn’t be there Christmas Eve. No making Christmas cookies, or listening to my dad sing off-key while my mom bustled around wrapping last-minute gifts. No decorating the tree. No midnight Christmas kiss. 
No waking up in Grey’s arms. We were actually going to spend our very first Christmas in different states.
That was until Grey gave me the most unexpected gift of my life.
A Very Grey Christmas is a sweet novella that will get you in the mood for Christmas even though it is still Summer, well here in the UK it is anyway. I haven't read any of the other books in the Kissing Eden series, so I was a bit confused at first but after reading a few pages I was able to get some idea of what had happened and the lovely, yet challenging relationship that Eden and Grey have. 
When Eden had dreamt of the perfect Christmas, she had expected Grey to be there and not hundreds of miles away. When Eden goes home to spend the Christmas with her family, she knows she is going to miss Grey more than anything but you know what they say about Christmas it is a time for miracles and maybe, Eden will get hers this year.
I loved that even though Eden loved Grey a lot, she was still willing to spending time with her family who are also very important to her as well. Also, I loved Eden's family they were funny and very similar to most families, having them in the book made it more enjoyable for me, mainly as family and Christmas as very important to me as a lot of people would agree also. 
My favourite character would have to be Eden, I loved reading about her and Grey's relationship and how it makes her feel. They are both very emotionally driven characters yet perfect for each other at the same time. Making this a very sexy, yet swoon-worthy read. 
My favourite part of A Very Grey Christmas would have to be towards the end of the book and it involves Christmas decorations and is very sexy. That is all I am going to tell you as you have to read it for yourself, otherwise I will spoil it for you which I don't want to do! 
A Very Grey Christmas is a sweet romantic Christmas story that will make you fill with Christmas warmth and spirit even in August. With its beautiful setting, loveable characters and a dashing yet romantic male character, it should be on everyone's Christmas list!
Sexy, Touching and Romantic.

Another day, another book,
post signature

Thursday, 14 July 2016

Blog Tour - Review of When I Found You by Kate James plus Giveaway!


On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

When I Found You (K-9 Trilogy, #3)When I Found You
(K-9 Trilogy #3)
by Kate James
Genre? Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook,
365 pages
Publication Date: July 1st 2016
Publisher: Harlequin Heartwarming

Is she part of the solution…or the problem?
It could be a terrorist threat. Or is it some other sinister plot? An unprecedented rash of security breaches at San Diego's international airport is putting passengers at risk and bringing the competence of the airport's chief of security, Ariana Atkins, into question. With explosives the weapon of choice, police K-9 unit captain Logan O'Connor and his bomb detection dog, Boomer, might be Ariana's best, if not only, line of defense. Logan is certain his belief in Ariana, and his growing love for her, aren't misplaced…but it wouldn't be the first time he's misjudged someone's intentions.


GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin



I think that this is the first book I have read by Kate James and it was such a emotional read that is truly amazing from start to finish. I love books that feature animals and this one definitely has animals, mainly dogs! From what I can understand some of the characters have featured in other books of the K-9 series, I haven't read these but I definitely want to after reading When I Found You.
Logan O'Connor is a man who has seen and experienced a lot, so he has put up walls to protect himself from others and in a way himself as well. The only one who knows the real him is his lovely dog, he is everything to Logan and they have been through a lot together.
Ariana Atkins has the important job of Chief of Security at San Diego airport, yet when a incident happened she is thrown into something she hasn't really know before... self doubt. When her and Logan start working together, it is an instant spark, but Ariana wants to put her job first as the most important thing at the moment is finding out who is trying to drive her crazy and committing crimes at the same time.
My favourite character would have to be Boomer, I don't think I really need to explain why?! He is such a great support and companion for his owner. I loved the whole theme of the story, it was heart-warming yet emotional, a story that touches your heart and your life in more ways than one.
When I Found You is not a book to be missed, I loved Kate's style of writing and how she take a story and makes it so much more than that, she makes it a home away from home.


Heartbreaking, Emotional and Magical. 


Other Books in the Series

When the Right One Comes Along (K-9 Trilogy, #1)When the Right One Comes Along
(K-9 Trilogy #1)
by Kate James
Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 293 Pages
October 1st 2015 by Harlequin

Brought together by disaster. Kept together by love.
In the aftermath of a deadly earthquake, it's chaos for trauma surgeon Jessica Hansen. Among the many victims, one patient stands out—San Diego Police K-9 search and rescue officer Cal Palmer.
Cal vows to help Kayla, a child orphaned by the disaster. But he needs Jessica's help. Will their shared concern for Kayla and for Cal's canine partner, Scout, allow them to put aside their personal torments and discover the difference love can make?



GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin

When Love Matters Most (The K-9 Trilogy, #2)When Love Matters Most
(K-9 Trilogy #2)
by Kate James
Adult Contemporary Romance
Paperback & ebook, 368 pages
January 1st 2016 by Harlequin Heartwarming


Keeping her safe at all costs
Could their backgrounds be any more different? Rick Vasquez, a K-9 unit sergeant with the San Diego Police Department, fled drug-related violence in Mexico as a boy. Madison Long, who recently became primary veterinarian to the SDPD's canines, is the privileged daughter of a judge. Rick has dedicated his life to curtailing cross-border drug trafficking and preventing other young boys from being drawn into the dark world of the cartels.
But everything Rick and Madison value, and the growing love between them, is threatened by the dangers of Rick's job, and the risks he's determined to take…


Kate James spent much of her childhood abroad before attending university in Canada. She built a successful business career, but her passion has always been literature. As a result, Kate turned her energy to her love of the written word. Her writing has been recognized with a number of awards, including first place honors for Silver Linings in both the First Coast Romance Writers’ Published Beacon Contest and Ancient City Romance Authors’ Heart of Excellence Readers’ Choice Award. Her November 2014 Harlequin Heartwarming release, A Child’s Christmas, received first-place honors from Southern Magic, the Birmingham Chapter of the Romance Writers of America, for the 2015 Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence, placed second in the Ancient City Romance Authors’ Heart of Excellence Readers’ Choice Award, and was a finalist in RWA’s Desert Rose Chapter’s Golden Quill Award and the Colorado Romance Writers’ Award of Excellence. Finally, her October 2015 release, When the Right One Comes Along, the first book in her K-9 trilogy, has received a Best Book of 2015 award in the contemporary category. She and her husband, Ken, enjoy traveling and the outdoors with their beloved Labrador Retrievers, Harley and Logan. Kate would love to hear from you! You can connect with her by e-mail, through her website, her Facebook pageTwitter, or mail at PO Box 446, Schomberg, ON, L0G 1T0, Canada.

Tour Schedule

July 5th: Launch
July 8th: Becky on Books
July 11th: EskieMama Reads
July 11th: Brooke Blogs
July 12th: Wishful Endings
July 13th: Mel's Shelves
July 15th: deal sharing aunt
June 18th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway


US/CAN PRIZE PACK: one K-9 trilogy women’s T-shirt, tote bag and a mug, a signed copy of the award-winning first book in the trilogy, When the Right One Comes Along, a signed copy of The Truth About Hope, signed book plates and a bag of Tim Horton’s coffee.
-Open to US/CAN only
-Ends July 24th
Grab Our Button!
Another day, another book, 
post signature

Saturday, 9 July 2016

Blog Tour - Return To Marker Ranch by Claire McEwen plus Giveaway!


On Tour with Prism Book Tours.

Return to Marker Ranch (Sierra Legacy)Return to Marker Ranch
(Sierra Legacy #2)
by Claire McEwen
Genre: Adult Contemporary Romance
Mass Market Paperback & ebook, 
Pages: 384 
Publication Date: July 1st 2016 
Publisher: Harlequin Superromance


This is one reunion both of them could do without.
This is the chance she's been waiting for to prove she can run her family's ranch. And despite her many doubters, Lori Allen knows she's doing a good job. Until the man who once broke her heart—Wade Hoffman—runs her well dry! And it turns out he's got as much to prove as she does. After serving his country, Wade's back to rebuild his family's reputation and win his battle with PTSD.
With so much to lose, neither can afford to give in to temptation. But to succeed they must let go of old heartache and face up to bringing out each other's worst, along with the best. And what doesn't kill them…



GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleHarlequin


This is the first book I have read by Claire McEwen and I can say that it is one of the most touching yet amazing books I have read this year. Wade Hoffman has seen his fair share of bad experiences, many have left him with scars that run deeper than most people know. Coming back to his home, he wants to get things back on track not just for himself but for his family as well but he seems to have taken to hiding in his own world away from people.
Lori Allen is a strong woman, who wants people to see her as much. Her passion and drive is something that pushes her to be the best and want the best, which is not a bad thing. Determined to make something of her family's ranch, she is thrown into a lot of unexpected situations including seeing Wade Hoffman again.
Wade and Lori have a spark between them, one that refuses to go out no matter how much time has past. Although they are both different people now, both are broken and not really focused on love. They both shared a night together years previously, one that had stuck in both their minds but things are not all that they seems. Both seem to be hiding secrets about their pasts and it takes one thing to bring them face to face to relive their past, once and for all.
I loved the two main characters, something about them made me feel as if they were real and not just on a page of a book. It was as if their stories were your stories as you read about the struggles they faced, the passion and unwillingness to give up on love or life made me fall in love with the story everytime I flicked the page.
Return To Marker Ranch is a unbelievable story that tackles topics that really get to your heart and mind, making you feel a range of emotions. I would recommend that anyone who loves a romantic, sweet story with passion should definitely read this book!
Touching, Heartbreaking and Sweet. 



The First Book in the Series

Wild HorsesWild Horses
(Sierra Legacy #1)
by Claire McEwen
Adult Contemporary Romance
Mass Market Paperback & ebook, 384 pages
March 1st 2016 by Harlequin Superromance

This wild stallion can't be tamed 
Todd Williams is still the naive idealist he was in college. Only now he's endangering lives—Nora Hoffman's to be exact. Nora hasn't seen Todd since he decided that saving the rain forest was more important than their relationship. Until the night she's nearly crushed by the stampede he causes. Now Todd is determined to make amends, for everything. 
She may not agree with his methods, but even Nora can't deny the importance of his fight to save the wild horses. With the attraction between them still sizzling and the fate of the horses in the balance, Nora must decide just how much she's willing to risk.




Author Bio:
Claire McEwen lives by the ocean in Northern California with her family and a scruffy, mischievous terrier. When not dreaming up new stories, she can be found digging in her garden with a lot of enthusiasm but, unfortunately, no green thumb. 
Claire enjoys discovering flea-market treasures, walking on the beach, dancing, traveling, and reading, of course! She loves to write complex heroes and heroines, who grow and find themselves through their search for love.







Tour Schedule:
July 1st: Launch
July 5th: Mythical Books
July 6th: Brooke Blogs
July 7th: EskieMama Reads
July 11th: Colorimetry
July 12th: deal sharing aunt
July 13th: Wishful Endings
July 14th: Harlie's Books
July 15th: Beck Valley Books
July 17th: Grand Finale

Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon eGift Card
1 copy of the first book in the series, Wild Horses (print if US, ebook if outside the US)
Open internationally
Ends July 22nd
Grab Our Button!
Another day, another book,
post signature

Thursday, 7 July 2016

Blog Tour - The Story Of Our Life by Shari Low (Q&A)

So what would you do if your husband slept with another woman?
Colm strolled into my life fifteen years ago. If there's ever such a thing as love at first sight, that was it for us both.
A few weeks later we married, celebrating with those who cared, ignoring the raised eyebrows of the cynics.
We knew better. This was going to be forever. The dream come true. The happy ever after.
Until it wasn't.
Because a couple of months ago everything changed. We discovered a devastating truth, one that blew away our future and forced us to revisit our past, to test the bonds that were perhaps more fragile than they seemed.
So now I ask you again, what would you do if your husband slept with another woman?
Because this is what I did.
I'm Shauna.
And this is the Story of Our Life...
 

If you want to purchase The Story Of Our Life, here are the links:- 
Amazon UK / Amazon US

23 Review Street:
Q&A with Shari Low

Hi Shari, I am so happy to have you on 23 Review Street today and to be part of your blog tour for your new book!
‘The Story of Our Life’ is the first book you have published by Aria Fiction. Can you tell us what it is about?
The book opens in 2001, when Shauna and Colm meet and fall in love at (almost!) first sight. The narrative then splits into two strands – we step back in time and follow their relationship over the next fifteen years, while in the present day, we learn that their lives have taken a devastating, and very unexpected turn. Page by page, we learn whether their years together have made them strong enough to deal with the situation they’re now facing.
There’s also a supporting cast of friends and family who are there for the ups, downs and dramas.

Where did you find the inspiration for ‘The Story of Our Life’?
As with all my novels, some of the storylines were inspired by real life. My husband asked me to marry him a week after we met and we’re still together over two decades later. Like Shauna, I live my whole life with a close circle of friends, who are usually to be found sitting around my kitchen table. That kitchen table has seen a whole load of laughter and a few tears over the years.
But the inspiration for the big storylines came from the idea that I wanted to write real characters with flaws and imperfections, and then test their love for each other when life delivers a heart-breaking turn of events.
Can there ever be mitigating circumstances for hurting those closest to you? And can love really forgive everything?

What is your favourite genre to read?
I’m outrageously unfaithful when it comes to genres. I can go straight from a historical thriller, to a dark crimefest, to a riotous romcom to an 80’s bonkbuster. As long as it’s well-written and a great story, I’m in.

Do you have a favourite author?
Many! I’ve been a devoted Jackie Collins fan since I was a teenager, and in later years, Jackie was incredibly supportive and encouraging. She was a true class act.
I also love anything by Marian Keyes, Harlan Coben, Jenny Colgan, Liane Moriarty, Jilly Cooper, Michael Connelly, Sidney Sheldon, Stephen King, Denise Mina… see what I mean about my unfaithfully diverse reading habits?
My favourite novels are, and always have been, Tai Pan and Noble House by James Clavell. They’re the only books I ever re-read, usually every couple of years, just to remind me of their brilliance.

I have just started to read ‘The Story of Our Life’, I am loving the story so far. Who was your favourite character to write about and why?
I adored Shauna and I absolutely fell in love with Colm. I make a point of falling in love with at least one character in every novel I write – it makes me so much keener to get to my desk every morning. I also had a great time writing Jess’s character as I have a soft-spot for people who are flawed and wanted everyone to understand why she acted the way that she did. However, my favourite character was Annie, Shauna’s strong, bolshy, hilarious grandmother. Everyone should have an Annie in their lives!

Every writer has a different routine daily, what is yours?
I have two things I must explain first:
a)    I have teenagers
b)    I don’t sleep much.
I take my sons to school at 8am, then go straight to my desk (which is in a cupboard next to my kitchen – so glam!) and work while the kids are at school. My sons are both basketball players who train most nights, so I take my laptop along and sit in sports centre car parks, typing away, while they’re inside. When I get home, I generally go back to my desk around 11pm and work until I fall asleep. I regularly wake up at 7am with my keyboard imprinted on my forehead.

If you had to sum up your writing in three words, what would they be?
Just. Like. Life.
And by that I mean it’s sometimes funny, sad, shocking, heart-breaking, joyous, sexy, dramatic, loving… Sorry. I realise I just used about fifteen extra words to explain my first three.

Thank you so much for joining us on 23 Review Street!
Thank you for having me!

The Story of Our Life is published by Aria, out July 1st

Another day, another book, 
post signature

Tuesday, 5 July 2016

Review of Blue Monday's by Emily Dubberley

Blue Mondays 
By Emily Dubberley
Publication Date: 1st April 2015
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton 
Pages: 320
Genre: Romance, Erotic, Adult Fiction
Format: Paperback
Source: Publisher


Amazon UK / Amazon US





When Lucy Green sees a stranger drop his wallet on the train, it's the beginning of a cat-and-mouse relationship that enlightens, frustrates, and arouses her in equal measure. She follows him to give it back, and is soon drawn into a situation she never dreamed possible, behaving in a way she never thought she would. She seems to respond to Ben at some animal level, and it's frightening.  Should she follow her head, say goodbye, and carry on her way to work?  Or go with him and explore her adventurous side?


Wow, is what I can say about Blue Mondays, it is sexy and is completely unlike anything I have read before. Lucy Green has always followed the rules, so much so that she has never skipped work or even stepped out of line, that is until a handsome man drops his wallet and she ends up running after him. Ben is the complete opposite to Lucy, he is spontaneous, willing to seek out adventures and he has a job that means he can travel and has no ties to a 9 to 5 job unlike Lucy. 
When Lucy finally catches up with Ben, she is surprised at the connection she feels to him, not just in a sexual way but in a more deeper way that makes her excited with the possibilities to come. It doesn't take much for Ben to convince Lucy to skip work for the day and to explore the city through his eyes instead of her own. It doesn't take long before things heat up between Lucy and Ben, although something happens which sends Lucy straight back into her everyday life without Ben. 
You get to meet a range of different people in Blue Mondays from a snobby girl who Lucy can't understand why she talked to her in the first place to the handsome guy who lived in her hometown that she could picture a future with once upon a time. Lucy's story is a story about finding yourself, both in life and sexually. She is a great character to read about and get to know. 
The story has a lot of different elements to it, from sex to fantasies to sexual experiences with the same sex, it is an enlightening book that is sensual and enthralling with a hint of adventure that keeps you reading the book until the very last word. 
I loved Lucy's character, she to me is based on most typical women. Someone who follows the rules, goes to work and hardly ever has time for fun, but I loved the difference in her as the story went on. It seemed that meeting Ben and thinking about what she truly wants in her life, made her make some choices that would put her on the path to happiness, something she wants more than anything. 
Blue Mondays is a sexy, erotic story that will make you want to read more about Lucy and Ben even after the last page. With its daring words and shocking situations, it will make you think about things in a different way especially when it comes to happiness and the future.   
Hot, Passionate and Enlightening. 



Another day, another book, 

Sunday, 3 July 2016

Review of The Jamie Quinn Mystery Collection by Barbara Venkataraman

The Jamie Quinn Mystery Collection
By Barbara Venkataraman 
Publication Date: 17th December 2015
Publisher: Createspace Publishing
Pages: 360
Genre: Mystery, Contemporary, Thriller
Format: Paperback
Source: Author 

Amazon UK / Amazon US



"Death by Didgeridoo"-Winner of the Indie Book of the Day award. Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, still reeling from the death of her mother, is pulled into a game of deception, jealousy, and vengeance when her cousin, Adam, is wrongfully accused of murder. It's up to Jamie to find the real murderer before it's too late. It doesn't help that the victim is a former rock star with more enemies than friends, or that Adam confessed to a murder he didn't commit. 

"The Case of the Killer Divorce"-Reluctant lawyer, Jamie Quinn, has returned to her family law practice after a hiatus due to the death of her mother. It's business as usual until a bitter divorce case turns into a murder investigation, and Jamie's client becomes the prime suspect. When she can't untangle truth from lies, Jamie enlists the help of Duke Broussard, her favorite private investigator, to try to clear her client's name. And she’s hoping that, in his spare time, he can help her find her long-lost father. 
"Peril in the Park"-There's big trouble in the park system. Someone is making life difficult for Jamie Quinn's boyfriend, Kip Simons, the new director of Broward County parks. Was it the angry supervisor passed over for promotion? The disgruntled employee Kip recently fired? Or someone with a bigger ax to grind? If Jamie can't figure it out soon, she may be looking for a new boyfriend because there’s a dead guy in the park and Kip has gone missing! With the help of her favorite P.I., Duke Broussard, Jamie must race the clock to find Kip before it’s too late. 




I was thrilled when Barbara asked if I wanted to read her three books mainly as I loved the blurbs as soon as I read them and I have been loving reading mystery type books lately. As this is the first book in the Jamie Quinn Collection, it gives you a lot of background information on the characters and their situations but it doesn't take away the true theme of the novel. 
Jamie's mother sadly passed away not long ago and left her, her house where Jamie has been living and hiding away since. Being a lawyer was all Jamie had wanted but lately she hasn't had the drive or need for working, that is until her cousin Adam is prime suspect in a murder. 
So, Jamie is thrown back into the world of work, determined to prove that Adam is innocent and that someone else had reason and motive to kill his music teacher. With the help of her best friend, Grace who is a lawyer just like her and was such a great character to read about and Duke who was Jamie's client turned PI who owes her a favour that she wants to cash in. 
I loved Jamie's need to protect Adam, not only due to his disability but due to the fact that she knew he wouldn't be capable of hurting anyone let alone someone who he thought he world of. Out of all the relationships/friendships that Jamie has in the book, my favourite would have to be the one her and Duke have. The way they are with each other is more like brother and sister than lawyer and client. 
Death by Didgeridoo is an amazing book that I finished in one sitting, with it thrilling storyline and imaginative characters I wanted to live inside their world. It is a book that shows the true meaning of friendship, family and of course the law, even if it is slightly unconventional. 
Thrilling, Legendary and Funny. 
As soon as I read the first book I started the second immediately, it has been quite a while since a book has gripped my attention like this one did. The book picks up a year after the first one and Jamie is back practising law, working for herself she is able to work the hours she wants and choose the clients that she wants. 
Jamie is representing a young woman who is going through a nasty divorce with her husband and they are trying to sort out the custody and arrangements for their two small daughters. So, when the ex-husband of the woman Jamie is representing turns up died, it is a shock for everyone involved even more so when the police change the cause of death from accident to murder. 
Jamie decides to use her own methods and hires her good friend, Duke to look into the death and the people of interest, hoping to get to the bottom of this. Although it isn't long before lies come to the surface and everyone involved is pushed to the breaking point. 
While this book is a mystery book, it has an added thing that the first one didn't have...romance. Jamie runs into her old flame, Kip whilst she is working and he asks her out of a date, I loved the connection that they have even though they have been apart for so long, it is still fresh and exciting. 
The Case of The Killer Divorce is another great book in the Jamie Quinn series that makes you love the characters a bit more and fall deeper into their stories as the book progresses. With the mystery, romance and murder, it shows that combining all three makes one hell of a book. 
Shocking, Amazing and Exciting. 




Peril In The Park picks up about six months after the second book ended and things seem to be looking up for Jamie for a change. She has a great boyfriend not to mention hot, her job is becoming more enjoyable again and she has some great friends who she can rely on for personal and professional support. 
That is until Jamie receives an email from someone called I-C-U and they seem to be threatening her and her boyfriend, Kip. Although when Jamie tells Kip about the email, he reveals that there are other things going on in his work that are not all they seem to be. Add in the park vandal that is going around all the parks that Kip is in charge of and destroying or marking things, is just the icing on the cake.
Unsure where to turn, Jamie calls in her friend Duke who is a Private Investigator to do a bit of digging around to find out any information that could help understand the reasons and why strange things were happening. 
Just like in the previous books, I love the banter and connection that Duke and Jamie have, it is funny yet endearing to read about at the same time. They are like a brother and sister duo, it adds something else to this amazing book which is why I love it. 
There is also the small issue of Jamie's father who only just found out about her and has applied to live in the United States, when things on that end don't go as planned, Jamie's best friend Grace is there to help. Grace's connections and knowledge helps Jamie come up with the answers on what to do now and a way forward. 
Peril In The Park has mystery and a thrilling storyline that keeps you guessing until the end trying to figure out who and what is going on. I can't wait to read more about Jamie Quinn and the people who make her who she is, in fact I have just downloaded the fourth book the series which I will be reading soon! 
Mysterious, Unexpected and Humorous


 Another day, another book, 
post signature